“But I don’t like SPAM!

Sure, we all get email spam in our inbox. Spam filters have eliminated some, but we all still get it. How many other forms of spam do you get? What do you consider spam?

I use the term spam for any unsolicited attempt to offer me something. That definition opens up a whole other list.

What about telephone spam, don’t you just love those. Especially the robocalls, those are awesome. I’m to the point, unless I recognize the number, I don’t pick any of my phones, home, office or cellphone.

What about sneaky upsells? Godaddy comes to mind. I just want the domain name, dang it. Please don’t ask me if I want anything else. I cringe when a client is hosting with them or wants to buy their domain name there.

What about auto selected items in forms and download? These are the worst and I definitely consider that spamming. Adobe (especially with Flash downloads) and Oracle (Java downloads) are the worst. NO, I don’t what McAfee something or other software. Please do NOT pre-select that option then de-emphasized or even hide it all together, it drives me nuts. Oh, and what about when you complete a form or place an order and you get pitched a newsletter or “other communications”. Always pre-selected or worse the verbiage is confusing. “Check Yes, if you do not agree to not get our future spam”. What?

What is your most hated spam?

 

adobe-fail

 

