Many people may think this sounds so rudimentary, right? Duhhh…but do you REALLY know the purpose of your website.

I work with business owners small and large and it amazes me how many don’t have an answer to that seemingly easy question. So many think, “well, I just need a website” and for the most part I’ll buy that. However, without defining a purpose up front how can you ever determine success or failure? I don’t want to just build a website for a company, I want to help their business grow.

Do you want your website to generate leads or sales? Do you just want the site to help publicize your business or service? Start off with a simple goal, “I want my website to increase sales”. Maybe that is over simplified but at least it is a goal. In 6 months or in a year you can look back at your numbers and see if your sales have increased. (You would want to factor in what the industry numbers and if your vertical is cyclical, but you should be doing that anyway.)

