big fat fail
I have lived in the upstate of South Carolina for 13 years now. I have seen small businesses come and go. Some stick around some close down almost immediately. Its beautiful here in Greenville today,  so I decided to walk down our bustling Main Street to grab some lunch. I passed a relatively new restaurant and mad a note of the URL for their website. My thinking was to stop by there the next time, but first check their menu on the web.

After lunch, back in my office, instead of typing in the URL exactly, I did a search. I typed the companies exact name, street and city. Nothing (relevant to this restaurant anyway)! That blows my mind, who would build a site and not use even the barest fundamentals of SEO (Search Engine Optimization) to show up in the SERPs (search engine results page)? It never suprises me that these are always the businesses that close down soon after opening. I am not saying that there is an exact correlation, just that in every case I have seen in this town they have closed. I am not mentioning the name of the business because I really hope they make it.

By the way, I typed in the actual URL exactly as advertised and it didn’t resolve to a website. I check the WHOIS (a database of all domain names and who owns them) and they didn’t even own the domain that they were advertising. ARE YOU SERIOUS!?!

FYI, I went back just make sure I had the URL right, I did. UNBELIEVABLE!

