After a quick but funny Twitter conversation about MAC vs PC, I got to thinking, What inspires such fierce loyalty to one or the other?

I suppose I should admit that my primary computer both at home and the office are PCs. With that said, my first computer was an Apple IIC and we also have a MacBook at home currently. I consider myself a rational person although others might disagree.   On Twitter, I watched a MAC users bad mouth and actively attempt to “recruit” a PC guy to switch. Why are people like this so passionate about a computer and/or an operating system?

As I mentioned earlier, growing up I used MACs. When I first went to college I used a MAC in the computer lab. It wasn’t that I loved MACs and hated PCs, it was what I was used to. As I started taking more classes in the Business Administration building, I started using that computer lab which only had PCs. There was a short learning curve, but I didn’t want to walk all the way across the campus to the Arts and Sciences building to use the MACs. Soon after, while on the market for a laptop (that my parents where paying for) I made the decision to get a Toshiba T1910 (look it up). Since then I have been a PC guy. I have nothing against MACs.

As a business owner and an IT Manager I both own and support MACs and PCs. When deciding between the two I look at price, funtionality and the users preference. I can’t make a discussion on emotion. I believe the reason the commercial above get’s MAC users so upset is that it is true. I can purchase MUCH more for the money when buying a PC. MAC users would argue that you lose functionality and stability, but I think that is much more of a learning curve and personal preference then a reality. 

I have used and I am currently using both MACs and PCs. I understand the differences in the equipment and the branding. I can appreciate the passion, but seriously…do you really think there is THAT big a difference? I don’t.

Should I turn Comments off now? 🙂

