To Blog or not to Blog?

Recently I was discussing an interesting topic with a colleague; should every one blog? If you are in the web design or search engine optimization (SEO) industry you know the benefits. Blogs are a great (and cheap) way for companies to easily communicate with customers. Search engines love blogs; it is a major component to many of the SEO campaigns we initiate. Much of the news and information we get these days come from blogs. So the question remains, should every one blog? My answer is NO.

In a frenzy to “stay current”, clients come to me and ask how to start a blog. I generally have a few questions I ask them:

What is the purpose of this blog? The first question is easy. “I read that we can provide information about the business and offer another line of communication with customers.”

What will the content be? The first hesitant answer generally is to the second question. “Well, we can talk about our business and our latest news, I guess.”

Who will be responsible for updating this blog? The third question is the most uncomfortable. “Well, I can put the content up, and my assistant and ummm.”

The reality is sometimes it is better not to blog. If you have the content and resources, it can be a great asset for your business. Many small business, especially these days, just don’t have the time to create content. If like many blogs (including this one:-) you don’t keep it updated, it doesn’t really serve its purpose.

This rant doesn’t even address whether or not a blog fits the company’s business model or if a business is ready for this type of communication with the customers.

I would really welcome feed back on this topic…I could be totally wrong.

